Journey Series: Sydney

Sydney.png

The Femme Oasis: How do you identify yourself (gender and gender performance)?

Sydney: Female, gender performance: feminine “tomboy” through clothes and haircut.

TFO: What is your current occupation?

S: Full-time graduate student.

TFO: What do you do as a hobby?

S: Workout (weight-training), study health & wellness.

TFO: What are some organizations you’re involved in?

S: Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM). Chicago Youth Opportunities Initiative.

TFO: What is your dream job?

S: To own my own HR consulting firm and be a Chief Human Resources Officer.

TFO: What are the three major stressors in your life?

S: Health. School. Finding true happiness.

TFO: How do you cope with your stresses (if at all)?

S: Prayer. Spending time with family/friends. Reading wellness/motivational articles.

TFO: Do you have goals you set for your life overall?

S: Yes–I have five-year plan outlined; this is where my long-term goals are housed. I also have short-term goals that are within my five-year plan that I want to accomplish in the next 6 months to a year.

TFO: What is your process in achieving these goals?

S: Informing my loved ones on my goals so they can hold me accountable. Ensure that my goals are SMART so I can make sure that I am actually reaching them by a certain time period and following the process that will allow me to reach them.

TFO: What is your daily mantra (if you have one)?

S: “What is meant for me can’t be taken away from me.” “What have I done to make someone smile today?” “When’s the last time I did something for the first time?”

TFO: Are you happy where you are in life?

S: I would like to say I am content.

TFO: Are you on a path you feel is right for you?

S: Yes.

TFO: Do you feel confused or pressure to figure out if you are on the right path?

S: No, I am doing what I want to do.

TFO: What are some pressures of society you wish didn’t exist?

S: Standard of beauty, especially for Black/African American women and other WOC [women of color]. The idea that we need a partner in order to be “happy.” I wish there was more dialogue on how to be happy and single.  

TFO: What would be one thing you don’t have but you want at this very moment (it can be tangible or intangible)?

S: My own property to rent to others.

TFO: What do you do for self-care (if anything)?

S: Go to the gym (5 days out of the week), pray, read, cook and find new health and wellness recipes.

TFO: What is something you do well that you can offer society?

S: I can offer my insight how to be healthy holistically. While we will all die or get ill from something, we need to be aware that God has given us one body and we need to treat our body with care. We are ultimately feeding our spirit through the various things we are consuming, whether it’s food, alcohol, music, energies from other people, etc.

TFO: Do you have goods or services you want to sell or promote to your fellow femmes and women?

S: HR consulting–helping people with negotiating salaries, understanding if you are being paid fairly, professional development, finding a job etc.

TFO: Where can we find you (social media, email, organization etc.)?

S: Facebook, Sydney Sewell. Instagram, syd__eliz. LinkedIn, Sydney E. Sewell, Email, sydneysewell95@gmail.com or sydney.sewell@chicagoyoi.com (for nonprofit)