Journey Series: Sariah

sariah.jpg

The Femme Oasis: How do you identify yourself (gender and gender performance)?

Sariah: I’m female and cisgender.

TFO: What is your current occupation?

S: I’m a barista and cashier.

TFO: What do you do as a hobby?

S: I draw and write when I’m not in a block. I game (shout out to all the gamer girls out there!), watch anime and read. I like sight-seeing, doing hair (usually my own) and cook.

TFO: What are some organizations you’re involved in?

S: Only organization/club that I’m currently involved in is Pre-Vet club at my school.

TFO: What is your dream job?

S: My dream job and career is to be a veterinarian.

TFO: What are the three major stressors in your life?

S: Financial stability, my mental illnesses, and being alone.

TFO: How do you cope with your stresses (if at all)?

S: I try to keep my mind off of it if I can- clean, sing, draw, write- but most of the time I just spend those moments expressing myself whether it’s tweeting, watching something emotional, drawing or recording myself. I try to stay away from self-destructive behavior with my mental illnesses but even then, that’s another way that I cope.

TFO: Do you have goals you set for your life overall?

S: Yes! Short and long term. I want to graduate first and foremost [laughs]. I won’t be graduating with my class, but that doesn’t matter. I’m graduating. I also want to open an organization for young sexual abuse victims along with my own pet kennel. Aside from business, I want to start a family. Two children at most and I want to be financially stable enough to do so and then some.

TFO: What is your process in achieving these goals?

S: As far as graduating, networking, studying and doing paying my graduation fee, of course. As far as opening an organization, I’m not sure yet because that’s more so a long term goal that I’m not 100% I want to fall through with. With the pet kennel, I will be working towards getting a business license once I’m financially established and have relocated to the place I want to settle in. As far as starting a family? Finding a man, or woman, that I want to start one with *laughs*.

TFO: What is your daily mantra (if you have one)?

S: Stay true to yourself and the things that are meant to be, will be.

TFO: Are you happy where you are in life?

S: Not really. I know I have a lot to work on as far as myself, school and other things, but like everyone else – I’m working on it.

TFO: If not, would you say you’re unhappy, or just not completely satisfied because you want better/more?

S: It’s conflicting because as a mentally ill person I’d say I’m unhappy, but I really don’t know. Let’s just say I’m dissatisfied with life as of now.

TFO: Are you on a path you feel is right for you?

S: I am! Things haven’t completely set into place but it’s on it’s way. As I said before, I have a lot to work on as far as myself, but I’m getting there!

TFO: Do you feel confused or pressure to figure out if you are on the right path?

S: Not at all. Everyone has different paths in life. What works for you may not be what works for someone else. Someone may have an easy, smooth path and some may have a difficult, rocky one and that’s okay. Your path is your path because it’s made to shape you into a better you.

TFO: What are some pressures of society you wish didn’t exist?

S: Surviving for starters. I hate how hard marginalized people have to work to live on this planet, to see the next meal, to see the next day. Especially those with children. Secondly, I hate how the United States is so complacent in traditional ideals. In the progressive society we try to be, it’s really hard fighting against the societal, traditional chains that hurt us every day. For women and other marginalized people, this is the most difficult for us.

TFO: What would be one thing you don’t have but you want at this very moment (it can be tangible or intangible)?

S: Money. Next to happiness. A damn shame I put money before happiness but hey, a girl gotta eat.

TFO: What do you do for self-care (if anything)?

S: I treat myself! That game I always laid off buying? Bought it. Want your nails done? Do it. Want to take yourself out to eat? Done. Give myself a bubble bath, a face mask and paint my nails under some candles. It’s great. I treat myself to a few things if not one expensive thing that I know will satisfy me for more than a week. It’s therapeutic.

TFO: What is something you do well that you can offer society?

S: I haven’t really explored much but just talking to people has helped. By sharing my experiences and even oversharing, I serve as a guide for others without even knowing it until they tell me. Or just simply making their day. I don’t want to be legendary or monumental, I just want to make people happy and help them in whatever way I can. If I can.

TFO: Do you have goods or services you want to sell or promote to your fellow femmes and women?

S: I want to do hair! I spend so much time and money on snatching myself, I want to do it for others as well. Not only as a side hustle, but just to see their happy faces when they see the results.

TFO: Where can we find you (social media, email, organization etc.)?

S: My twitter: pearIessence [capital i]. My Instagram: pearlessence. Email is pearlessence96@gmail.com