Journey Series: Haylee

The Femme Oasis: How do you identify yourself (gender and gender performance)?

Haylee: I identify as a female and go by she/her

TFO: What is your current occupation?

H: I am currently a full-time student at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, VA.

TFO: What do you do as a hobby?

H: I am a beauty influencer on social media as a hobby

TFO: What are some organizations you’re involved in?

H: I currently volunteer at the Richmond Animal League.

TFO: What is your dream job?

H: My dream job is anything that keeps me financially stable and happy.

TFO: What are the three major stressors in your life?

H: The major stressors I have right now are school and the future.

TFO: How do you cope with your stresses (if at all)?

H: I cope with stressors by doing my makeup

TFO: Do you have goals you set for your life overall?

H: I do have goals for myself that I keep on my phone.

TFO: What is your process in achieving these goals?

H: I am going to achieve these goals by working hard to do what I need to attain them.

TFO: What is your daily mantra (if you have one)?

H: I do not have a daily mantra.

TFO: Are you happy where you are in life?

H: I am happy with where I am in life right now.

TFO: If not, would you say you’re unhappy, or just not completely satisfied because you want better/more?

H: I am happy, but I do want to be better/do more with social media

TFO: Are you on a path you feel is right for you?

H: I am not sure if I am on the path that is right for me

TFO: Do you feel confused or pressure to figure out if you are on the right path?

H: I do not feel confused or pressured to figure out “my path.”

TFO: If you feel you aren’t on the right path for you, what are your roadblock(s)?

H: If I were not on the right path right now, I feel that going to college is my roadblock for what I could be doing.

TFO: Do you feel you can alleviate these hindrances or do you feel they are bigger than you?

H: I can fix these hindrances.

TFO: What are some pressures of society you wish didn’t exist?

H: I wish society did not pressure young people to have to take the same path as everybody else and go to college.

TFO: What would be one thing you don’t have, but you want at this very moment (it can be tangible or intangible)?

H: I want to have my own room to be able to focus on social media more.

TFO: What do you do for self-care (if anything)?

H: For self-care, I do my makeup and do my skincare routine.

TFO: What is something you do well that you can offer society?

H: I feel that I am very good at being straightforward so I want people to know that doing that is okay, and I want to offer society a voice for the young people and minorities.

TFO: Do you have goods or services you want to sell or promote to your fellow femmes and women?

H: I want to eventually do collaborations with makeup or skincare brands and/or have my own makeup or skincare line myself. I also consider being a makeup artist as well.

TFO: Where can we find you (social media, email, organization, etc.)?

H: You can find me on Instagram, Youtube, and Twitter at HayleeAnise, and on Snapchat I am OfficialHayleeW.